Kogi FA Ban Kabawa United, Eight Officials for Beating Referee to Coma 



The Kogi State Football Association has banned eight officials of Kabawa United for two years after they started a fracas which led to the disruption of the match between the team and Kogi United Feeders

The state football association also wielded the big stick on Kabawa United by slamming them with a two-year ban from all football-related activities and fining them the sum of N200,000 for the encroachment of the field and manhandling of the match officials by their supporters and bringing the game of football to disrepute.

Recall that last week Friday that the centre referee in the State FA Chairman cup final, Haruna Shaibu, was beaten to coma by irate fans of Kabawa United.

The Secretary of the Association, Austin Ogunmola, in a statement on Thursday said the decision was taken after an emergency meeting held on Monday 18th October, 2021.

Ogunmola said the FA condemns in strongest terms the acts of hooliganism and unsportsmanlike behavior of a section of the fans during the final match.

He noted that some individuals who should know better were seen rioting or aiding and abetting the fans to riot despite the presence of invited dignitaries from within and outside the state.

The names of the Kabawa United officials banned by the Kogi FA are Baba Ali (aka Tolotolo), Abubakar Mohammed (Team Manager aka YABA), Mohammed Mohammed aka Hon. Alhaji and Danlami Wode (Kanna).

Others are Umar Jana (pepper), Das Onuh, Maikudi I Abdullahi (Figo) and Makanta.

“Kabawa United FC should pay for the damaged items listed below: stadium sits removed and broken N150,000.00, missing referee’s items and medical bill N81,500.00, rented chairs and four match balls N71,000.00,” the statement added.

Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like