AEDC to Disconnect Kogi Govt, Other Debtors June 3


The Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has announced that it will disconnect all customers with outstanding electricity bills on June 3, 2024.

The company’s management stated this in a notice on Saturday.

The firm said in its announcement titled “Notice of Power Disconnection for Customers with Outstanding Bills” that the timely payment of electricity bills would ensure it can continue supplying electricity seamlessly.

“This is to inform the general public that AEDC will disconnect all customers with outstanding electricity bills on June 3, 2024.

“Timely payment of electricity bills is crucial for the continued operation and enhancement of AEDC’s infrastructure, ensuring we can deliver efficient and reliable service to our community.

“We therefore urge all customers with debts to pay all outstanding bills before the deadline to avoid service interruption,” the Abuja electricity distributor said.

Listed as debtors by the company are Kogi state government, Nigeria Army, Nigeria Air Force, Defence HQ, Federal Capital Development Authority, Niger State Government, Nigeria Police Force HQ, Nigerian Army Barracks, Power House, SGF House I, Head of Service, Fed. Min of Education, Fed. Min of Women Affairs, Fed. Min of Industry, Fed. Min. of Trade, Fed. Min. of Interior, and Fed. Min. of Water Resources.

Also listed are National Stadium, Goodluck Jonathan Athletics Hall, Fed. Min. of Finance, Fed Ministry of Education, National Planning Com (Budget), Federal Ministry of Works, FAAN Abuja, and all other customers owing AEDC.

In February, the Abuja electricity firm threatened to disconnect the State House and government parastatals over an outstanding electricity bill of N342 million.

Some of the government arms the AEDC named were the Chief of Defence Staff – Barracks and Military Formations, FCT Ministry, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of State Petroleum, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Information, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Agriculture.

Also named were the Federal Inland Revenue Service, Ministry of Education, CBN governor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Budget and Planning, Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Ministry of Interior, Head ECOWAS, and Ministry of Transport.

President Bola Tinubu, however, intervened and directed the immediate payment of the money.


Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like