ADC’s Leke Abejide Retains Yagba Reps Seat 

The member representing Yagba Federal Constituency Hon. Leke Abejide has retained his seat at the Green Chamber in the Saturday’s general elections.

Abejide is the candidate of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), an defeated his closest rival, Folorunsho Olafemi of the All Progressives Congress.


The lawmaker polled 23,271 votes, while APC polled 10,426, and the People’s Democratic Party trailed behind with 6421 votes.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the election in Kabba/Bunu/Ijumu House of Representatives inconclusive.

The returning officer, Dr Adams Baba, who made this known in Kabba on Sunday said the difference in the results between the winner, Arch Salman Idris of African Democratic Congress (ADC), and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Kolawole Matthew was not up to the number of registered voters in the cancelled polling units.

Matthew Kolawole is the Speaker of Kogi State House of Assembly.

Baba said, “The ADC candidate polled 13867 while the APC polled 13605 leaving just 262 votes difference whereas the number of PVC collected in the cancelled polling units of Iya in Otu ward in Kabba/Bunu LGA (485) and Open Space polling unit in Egbeda ward of Ijumu LGA (100) is more than the difference”

The returning officer however failed to mention when the rerun election will be conducted in the affected polling units.

Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like