Senators Ohere, Karimi, Echocho Receive Certificates of Return

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday presented certificates of return to 101 Senators-elect across senatorial districts in the country.

The Senators who were elected in the February 25 general elections will constitute the 10th Assembly, even as the remaining 7 senatorial districts are to be decided by a supplementary election scheduled for later in the month.

From Kogi State, Senators Abubakar Ohere (Central), Sunday Karimi (West), and Jibrin Echocho (East) have received their certificates from INEC.

The three Senators were elected under the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

While Ohere and Karimi are making their first entry into the Red Chamber, Echocho is returning to a second term in office.

Meanwhile, Karimi is a former member of the House of Representatives, and Ohere is a former Commissioner for Works and Housing in the state.

According to INEC, APC has 52 Senators, PDP 29, LP 5, NNPP 2, SDP 2 and APGA 1 pending the completion of the supplementary elections.

Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like