Kogi Confirms Lassa Fever cases in Nine Local Govts

The Kogi State Government has confirmed 41 cases of Lassa fever with seven deaths from January till date.

A statement issued by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health, Mr Alonge Daniel, which was made available to journalists in Lokoja on Thursday, stated that nine local government areas namely: Idah, Ibaji, Lokoja, Ajaokuta, Ofu, Okene, Okehi, Kabba- and Adavi had reported at least one confirmed case during the period.

Alonge noted that the ministry had responded appropriately and timely to the epidemic through the release of funds by Governor Yahaya Bello to curb the outbreak.

“The ministry is collaborating with other line ministries, especially the Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Agriculture and other partners to curtail the outbreak and prevent the further spread of the disease.

“The Ministry of Health has carried out community sensitisation activities in the local government areas affected by the outbreak. This is to enable them to adopt a healthy lifestyle, by keeping their environment clean, maintaining high standards of personal hygiene and preventing rats from having access to their foodstuff, both at home and in market places,” he stated.

He added that health workers in primary, secondary and tertiary health institutions had been adequately sensitised to have high suspicion index for early diagnosis and treatment.

Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like