Kogi Govt Orders Council Chairmen, Councillors to Vacate Office

Governor Yahaya Bello

The Kogi State Government has directed the 21 local council chairmen and councillors to vacate their seats following the end of their tenure.

The state Commissioner for Local Government And Chieftaincy Affairs, Barr. S.M Ozigi Deedat, disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

Deedat directed the affected officials to hand over power to the Directors of Local Government Administration in their councils, pending further directives from the state government.

“The constitutional tenure of the elected chairmen and councillors of local governments in Kogi State ends today, 14th December 2023. This implies that all chairmen and councillors would vacate their respective offices accordingly and hand over the administration of the Local Governments.

“All the 21 local government chairmen and 239 councillors in Kogi State are expected to vacate their offices following the expiration of their three-year tenure today, Thursday, December 14, 2023,” the statement read.

The chairmen and councillors were sworn in on December 15, 2020.

Deedat congratulated the executive chairmen across the 21 local government areas of the State for their successful end of tenure and wished them well in their future endeavours.

“On behalf of the management and Staff of the Ministry For Local Government And Chieftaincy Affairs, I wish to congratulate the Executive Chairmen across the twenty-one (21) Local Government Areas of Kogi State, for their successful end of tenure in Office as the Executive Chairmen,” he added.

Spread the love
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like