Dr Olusola Baoku of the Federal Medical Centre (FMC), Lokoja, has emerged as the new Chairman of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), Kogi State Chapter.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Baoku and other officers were elected during the 2022 NMA AGM/Scientific Conference in Lokoja.

The other newly elected executives are: Dr Agwu Nnanna as Vice Chairman I; Dr Babatunde Samuel as Vice Chairman II; Dr Emmanuel Bola Jonah.K as Secretary and Dr Ugoh Stanley as Assistant Secretary.

Others are Dr (Miss) Mary Obari, Treasurer; Dr Okoye Chinonso, Financial Secretary; Dr Peter Aiyevbomwan, Public Relations Officer; Dr Abubakar Hassan as Ex-Officio I and Dr Udebuane Chimezie as Ex- Officio II.

In his inaugural speech after his swearing-in on Thursday, Baoku commended the electoral committee for conducting a free, fair and credible election acceptable to all.

He appreciated the immediate past chairman and other officials for their innovations and achievements recorded while in office, promising to build on them.

Baoku urged members to join hands with the new exco in uniting all NMA affiliates and improving their welfare, for effective service delivery to in the state.

He solicited the support of the medical elders and leaders, to initiate a reconciliation process in uniting all NMA members to foster unity among its affiliates and resolve all issues.

The new chairman promised to tackle quackery in the medical profession by collaborating with the State’s Commissioner for Health to identify and fish out quacks, to ensure sanity in the system.

NAN reports that the swearing-in ceremony, which was hybrid, had in attendance two past Presidents of NMA: Prof. Mike Ogirima and Dr Idris Omede.

Also present were past Chairmen of NMA in Kogi: Dr Musa Gabriel, Dr Attah Ahmed, Dr Zubai Kabir, Dr Tijani Godwin, the immediate past chairman; Dr Abubakar Alhassan, amongst others. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *